Archiving files added to your database

You can add a file to Daylite and link it to the contact, company, opportunity or project that it relates to. As you can imagine over time this will add to the size of your database. Combine this with DMA’s ability to save emails with the attachments in the database and you can see how fast a database could grow. While Daylite is optimized to handle this, efficient use of these features is recommended though this is harder to regulate in larger companies with more Daylite users. As a convenience you can see a general list of stored files in your database at any time using a the File Archiver feature in Daylite Server Admin.

Note: To make changes, click the lock icon and enter the credentials of a Mac OS X administrator. The Daylite Server main switch needs to be set in the off position to run the archiver.

  • In Daylite Server 4, navigate to the "Databases" pane, and click the button for Run File Archiver.

  • In Daylite Server 6 and Daylite Server 5, navigate to the "Database" pane, click the 'Advanced button followed by 'Run File Archiver'.

A window will appear and present you with two options. As always we recommend backing up the database before performing any activities that have a permanent effect. This feature will auto-select backup and will run the backup before you make any permanent changes.

The File Archiver Window Alt text

Regardless of which option you choose, you will be asked to specify a file path next. Alt text

The file path can be a folder on your computer, external hard drive, or shared drive. Click the Edit button to browse and select the folder location. If you are unfamiliar with the term AFP you can learn about it here, however this is a more advanced option which may require the help of a technical implementer from the Marketcircle Experts Program.

List Attachments

This pane will show you a list of the files you have stored in Daylite. You can click the headers in the white space to sort by the kind, size, and date the file was added. Click the triangle to expand the view and reveal the files. On the right you can preview the file and see the additional details. You have two choices, you can delete files immediately by hitting the delete button, but keep in mind this is permanent and there is no trash to recover files from. Once it is gone the only way to get the file back is to restore a previously backed up database.

Alt text

Archive Attachments to External Storage

This option is used when you know you want to archive the files in your database. You will be presented with two options, archive by modified date, or by completed and abandoned objectives (projects & opportunities). You can run both but you will need to do them one at a time. To clarify, a modified date of a record is updated when the record is put into edit mode, not necessarily when the last change was made so be aware of that before you archive. Clicking next will prompt a backup unless you unchecked this option, then once the process is complete the database will be optimized (which could take a few minutes) and you will be returned to the databases pane.

Alt text

Depending on where you choose to archive the files, the path will look like this:

Alt text

Was this article helpful?


Thanks for your feedback


 please wait...
 

Still can't find what you're looking for?